Chronic Pulmonary Insufficiency

Chronic pulmonary insufficiency is a general term that includes several different types of breathing disorders. The Social Security Administration does consider it a debilitating impairment, but only after having been proved by various tests, such as a forced expiratory volume test. To qualify as a serious illness, Social Security requires that a claimant must have one of the following:

  • chronic obstructive pulmonary disease,
  • chronic restrictive ventilatory disease, or
  • chronic impairment of gas exchange caused by a clinically documented pulmonary disease.

Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, also known as COPD, chronic obstructive lung disease, chronic obstructive airway disease, chronic airflow limitation and chronic obstructive respiratory disease, is a lung disease that causes air passages to narrow. This causes a lack of airflow to and from the lungs, which results in a shortness of breath that usually gets worse over time, unlike normal cases of asthma. Chronic bronchitis and emphysema usually occur, sometimes simultaneously, as part of this disease.

Chronic restrictive ventilatory disease is a serious reaction to a lung injury or infection. This usually results in acute lung injury, which is characterized by hypoxemia, or a lack of oxygen in arterial blood. Severe cases lead to acute respiratory distress syndrome, which is an inflammation of the lung that restricts gas exchange and often leads to multiple organ failure. It is typically a fatal illness.
To qualify for Social Security disability benefits, a confirmed diagnosis must be provided.

Common symptoms of chronic pulmonary insufficiency include:

  • shortness of breath,
  • fatigue,
  • coughing fits and
  • chest pain.

Frequent emergency visits are also common.

If you have this illness and it has affected your ability to work, call disability lawyer Nick Ortiz at 850-898-9904 for information on long term disability, how to apply for Social Security, or how to appeal a denial of disability.